Texting and Driving

Texting while driving in Florida is illegal. It is enforced as a secondary offense, which means that you cannot be pulled over for Texting While Driving. If you are pulled over for another offense such as speeding, an expired license plate, or any other reason you can be cited for texting while driving.

Related Page: Florida Cell Phone Laws

Distractions while you are driving can be very dangerous. We can't stress enough how important it is to pay full attention to driving while your vehicle is in motion.

5 Seconds = 290 Feet

At 40 MPH you are traveling more than 58 feet per second. So if you look at a text for just 5 seconds, your vehicle has traveled more than 290 feet. Imagine what can happen in that 5 seconds and 290 feet. Cars may have stopped, a child may have walked into the road, and when you look up it is too late to stop.

Here is a summary of the points related to texting while driving.

Points on your License for Texting

  • 2 points are added to primary offense (e.g.speeding) if texting occurred in a school zone
  • 6 points are added if the texting offense resulted in a crash

This means that you can rack up a lot of points in one incident. Enough that you are one mistake away from losing your license.

Teens Texting

But the points should be a secondary concern. Texting while driving is extremely dangerous. A study by the University of Michigan Transportation Research institute concluded that 25 percent of teens respond to a text message once or more every time they drive. What are the most dangerous driving distractions?

Don't text and drive, ever.

Contact your local Armstrong Insurance agent for a quote on auto insurance anywhere in Florida.